Tuesday 11th September saw the annual Outstanding Achievements to Cricket Awards (OSCAs) at the Fischer County Ground, Grace Road. Guests were invited along to watch the 2nd day of the Specsavers County Championship match between Leicestershire and Warwickshire and were treated to a buffet tea and a masterful innings from England international Chris Woakes.

At the close of play, the awards ceremony began with Mark Barber (Head of Community) and Andy Hibberd (Cricket Development Officer) introducing the evening and welcoming Leicestershire County Cricket Club professionals Dieter Klein and Gavin Griffiths who were on hand to present the awards.

Here is a full list of winners and nominees:

Young Volunteer (16-25)

Winner: Harry Cooke (Loughborough Greenfields CC)

Runners Up: Finlay Moore (Billesdon CC) and James Perkins (Bottesford CC)

Heartbeat of the Club

Winner: Ian Jefferis (Leicester Electricity Sports CC)

Runners Up: Fiona Youngwood (Billesdon CC), Tony Grant (Fleckney Village CC), Sam Rowe (Rothley Park CC), Laura and Steve Underwood (Lutterworth CC), Sarah-Jane Carpenter (Sileby Town CC), Ken Large (Shepshed CC), Paul Miles (Billesdon CC)

Women’s Sotftball Festival of the Year

Winner: Asian Sports CC

Runners Up: Lutterworth, Rushey Mead, Beauchamp College

NatWest Cricket Force Winners: Newtown Linford CC

All Stars Cricket Club of the Year: Market Harborough CC

All Stars Cricket Activator of the Year: Rachel Tyler-Murrell (Hinckley Amateur CC)

Officiating: Liam Tew (Melton Mowbray CC)

U19 T20 Champions: Houghton and Thurnby CC

Community Champion Award: Hajra Okhai (Memon Association)

Special Recognition Award: Aysha Hayat

ECB Young Coach of the Year: Jamie Bolton (Leicester Electricity Sports)

ECB Coach of the Year: Mark Barber (Sileby Town)

ECB Outstanding Contribution: Stephen Franklin (Loughborough Town and LCCC)

Lifetime Achiever

Winner: Paul Tompkins (Sileby Town) and Robin Whait (Leicestershire and Rutland Cricket League)

Runners Up: Barry Orton (Hinckley Town) and Paul Oliver (Shepshed)

Full OSCAs Presentation can be found here: OSCAs 2018

OSCAs Gallery


The Leicestershire County Cricket Club Community Team would like to thank all of the nominees, and wider volunteer network, for all of the fantastic work they do in recreational cricket. Volunteers are the lifeblood of the game and without them, we would be a much poorer place.