Loughborough University have announced their team name ahead of the inaugural Women’s Cricket Super League – Loughborough Lightning are ready to strike in 2016!

Loughborough Lightning, who named Salliann Briggs as their Head Coach earlier this week, are to play in the opening match of the tournament against Yorkshire Diamonds at Headingley.

It is a hugely exciting time for women’s cricket in the region as the Fischer County Ground, Grace Road will also be host of some major matches over the next two years.

Tickets for the floodlit Women’s ODI game between England and Pakistan on Monday, June 20 are now on sale for the great price of just £5 for adults and £1 for under 16s, and the Fischer County Ground, Grace Road will then host the ICC Women’s World Cup in 2017.

This summer, 90 of the most talented female players from England and across the world will come together to play for one of the six teams. The names and playing schedule has been announced by the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) today.

Team Name Host Details
Lancashire Thunder Lancashire Cricket Board with partners
Loughborough Lightning Loughborough University
Southern Vipers Hampshire Cricket with partners
Surrey Stars Surrey County Cricket Club
Western Storm Somerset County Cricket Club, Gloucestershire County Cricket Club, University of Exeter
Yorkshire Diamonds Yorkshire County Cricket Club


The inaugural season of the Women’s Cricket Super League will see the six new teams take part in a round-robin Twenty20 competition from Saturday 30th July to Sunday 14th August.  The tournament will feature 15 group matches in 16 days and climax with a finals day on Sunday 21st August.

Other key aspects of the schedule released by the ECB today include:

  • At least 11 matches to be played at seven first-class venues including: the Ageas Bowl (Southern Vipers), the Bristol County Ground and the Cooper Associates County Ground, Taunton (Western Storm), Emirates Old Trafford (Lancashire Thunder), Headingley (Yorkshire Diamonds), the Kia Oval (Surrey Stars) and the Essex County Ground (finals day)
  • A good spread of fixtures are scheduled throughout the group stage, with matches on ten of the 16 days and at least one match to be played on all three of the encompassing weekends.
  • The opening weekend of action will see Yorkshire Diamonds host Loughborough Lightning at Headingley on Saturday 30th July, followed on Sunday 31st July by Southern Vipers taking on Surrey Stars at the Ageas Bowl, and Lancashire Thunder travelling to the Cooper Associates County Ground, Taunton to play Western Storm.
  • After the last round of group matches on Sunday 14th August, the Essex County Ground in Chelmsford will host a finals day on Sunday 21st August to decide the winner of the inaugural competition.


ECB Director of England Women’s Cricket, Clare Connor, said: “Today represents another huge step towards delivering our vision of creating a dynamic, inspirational and high quality domestic women’s game in England.

“This time last year the Women’s Cricket Super League was simply a concept, and now we have six exciting new teams, some innovative partnerships and a fixture list that includes at least 11 matches being played at seven different First Class grounds across the country.

“As each stage of the process unfolds, we keep striving to push new boundaries.  We are now looking forward to working with the six teams over the next few weeks to reveal their kits, colours and brands, as well as the central competition logo and branding.”

The key aims of the Women’s Cricket Super League include the development of ever higher standards for the England women’s team with greater competition for places, alongside inspiring more women and girls to play cricket at all levels.  It will offer new opportunities, a new narrative for the game and new role models, as well as a network of six new teams linked to their communities.

The six selected hosts provide a strong geographical spread and encompass diverse partnership working from across the cricket and educational landscapes.  In total, seven First Class counties, five Non-First Class counties and three universities are involved, creating a collaborative, imaginative and wide-ranging project.

The Women’s Cricket Super League will expand from only including Twenty20 (T20) cricket in 2016 to incorporating both T20 and 50-over formats in future seasons.  All six teams have been awarded hosting rights for a four-year period from 2016-2019 inclusive.