The 2017 Lightning League finals day took place at Loughborough Town CC. Despite some rain intervals the day was a great success and an exciting final crowned Houghton and Thurnby the eventual winners of the competition.

4 teams attended finals day and a round robin structure was in place with points previous attainted in the league fixtures being carried through and accumulated with finals day points.

Sileby and Houghton and Thurnby fended off competition from Bowden and Cropston to meet in the final. Despite Sileby winning the earlier clash thanks to Lucy Weston retiring on 23, 4 wickets in an over from Sophia Sarna ensured Houghton and Thurnby won the Lightning League for the first time. flagbearers

Awards were handed out at the end of the day with Alexia Scudamore of Houghton and Thurnby picking up best fielder for her enthusiasm and committed efforts in the field. Issie Barnes of Sileby was presented with the bowling award for her accurate and economical spells through-out the league. Emily Wilford collected the batting award for her tremendous 50 against Ketton. Finally, the player of the year was awarded to Lucy Weston for her excellent displays of batting, bowling and fielding and leading by example in her fixtures.

Following the final, some of the girls headed down to Loughborough University to watch Loughborough Lightning take on the Yorkshire Diamonds where they had the opportunity to be flagbearers in front of the Lightning home  crowd. Prior to the KSL fixture, winning captain Sophie Bennett and team-mates Jaya Sarna and Charlotte Bennett collected the trophy on the pitch presented by Loughborough University vice chancellor and president, Robert Allison, Jo Emmett Director of Loughborough Lightning and Lightning captain Georgia Elwiss. It was a moment to remember for the girls who couldn’t contain their excitement when collecting the trophy.