The winter edition of the Leicestershire Women’s Indoor League drew to a conclusion last night as the two top placed teams, Sileby and Lutterworth, had crucial matches that had the potential to decide the winner.

Sileby played first against a still learning Loughborough University side and posted an imposing total, a couple of quick early wickets ensured that the students were never really in the chase.  Sileby’s comprehensive victory substantially boosted their net run rate above Lutterworth’s, and ensured that the final match between Lutterworth and Ibstock would be a decisive one.  Lutterworth had to secure victory to retain the trophy.

And secure victory they did with a comprehensive victory over the Ibstock Vixens.  Lutterworth batted first and their junior players did a sterling job getting the team off to a quick start, although Ibstock were unlucky with a few close runout chances that just didn’t go their way.  Ibstock never get started with the bat as Lutterworth dominated the second innings, securing the largest victory margin in the competition so far.

Congratulations to Lutterworth for taking away the title for the second year in a row.

Many thanks to Leicester Community Sports, and in particular Zaheer Esat, who provided so much practical support every week, their photos and league tables can be found at their website here:

Thanks also to our young umpires Jay Chauhan and Mubarak Tahir who officiated the league and to senior umpire Graham Pickering who was on hand to guide and advise them.

Any clubs looking to compete in future years should contact competition administrator Sara Begg:

0116 244 2198