Cricket is a sport, like many others, which relies heavily on the volunteers that run it. From your club chairmen and groundsmen, to the junior coaches and officials, there are many people who give up their time so that cricket can be played at local community clubs.  However, cricket is unique as the NatWest OSCAs (Outstanding Service to Cricket Awards) are held annually to recognise the work, commitment and positive impact of these key individuals.


The volunteers nominated in Leicestershire & Rutland were invited to enjoy an evening of t20 cricket at Grace Road on Tuesday 23rd July and were presented with their certificates, the winners were also announced, and they will now be invited to the National event which takes place at Lords Cricket Ground on the 30th September.


The presentation was overseen by Mike Siddall, Chief Executive of Leicestershire CCC, while nominees recieved their certificates from Leicestershire CCC player Robbie Williams.  Details of runners up and winners below:


The Winner in the Behind the Scenes Category

BegyNick Begy – Nominated by his club, Oakham CC, who had this to say about Nick:

“Nick typifies everything that this award is meant to be about…

He is a ‘one man volunteer army’ who is always the first to put his hand up. He spends many, many hours per week working for the benefit of the club. He leads on player recruitment, both in terms of new players and working tirelessly to get existing members to turn out for our teams.

He is irrepressibly positive in outlook, a fantastic team member/leader and a pleasure to work with. You could not want for a better role model for volunteering in cricket!”





Runners up in the Behind the Scenes Category

Mark Tebbatt

Wayne Smith 

Melanie Punchard

Punchard Tebbatt











The Winner in the Young Volunteer Category;

Katie Tweddle – Nominated by Leicestershire and Rutland Cricket, who had this to say about Katie:

“In 2013 Leicestershire & Rutland Cricket attempted to deliver an Indoor 24 City College varsity competition and with limited funds, we were reliant on a keen and enthusiastic volunteer to help coordinate the project. Fortunately, Katie Tweddle who has volunteered in various capacities and roles in the past stepped in to help.

Through Katie’s hard work and commitment, 5 teams competed with 51 participants aged 16 – 19 having an opportunity to play Indoor cricket on a regular basis.”


The Winner in the NatWest CricketForce Category;

John Corrie on behalf of Loughborough Outwoods


Corrie “L&RC have encouraged clubs to use the support and expertise of construction college’s to develop their facilities as part of NWCF. In 2012/13, Loughborough Outwoods (through the hard work and dedication of John) have taken this one step further by working in partnership with 2 college’s who have different trades to offer.”






The Winner in the Leagues & Boards Category;

Rob Doleman – Nominated by Leicestershire and Rutland Cricket, who had this to say about Rob:

Doleman“Creation of the new pyramid league in Leicestershire & Rutland would not have happened without the determination and hard work of Rob Doleman.

Working across three existing leagues has been a challenge for all involved but Rob has brought them together with his energy and enthusiasm.

This piece of work will have made a positive difference to league cricket in Leicestershire and Rutland for many years to come.”





The Winner in the Officiating Category;

Gordon Hubbard – Nominated by Simon Clark, who had this to say about Gordon:

Hubbard“Gordon Hubbard has had a long and eventful involvement with cricket, both locally and nationally.  He is currently Chairman of the L&R ACO, which keeps him very busy attending meetings regionally and nationally.  He also finds time to umpire regularly for Oakham and in both the Rutland and Everards Leagues… he is a source of inspiration to everyone who meets him and I have no hesitation in requesting deserved recognition for this pillar of cricket society.”






The Winner in the Building Partnerships Category;

John Lincoln – Nominated by his club Old Dalby CC, who had this to say about John:

Lincoln“John has visited local schools recruiting youngsters and encouraged their parents to get involved in the game through coaching, managing and various other roles. As a club we are well known for the number of women who have taken up managing teams as well as Committee roles. The club was encouraged to go for Clubmark accreditation due to the foresight of John which has proved invaluable in helping our club grow. He has long been a advocate of Nat West Cricket Force helping the club get players, parents and the wider community involved in ground improvements.”





The Winner in the Lifetime Achiever Category;

Steve Hickinbottom – Nominated by his club, Cropston CC, who had this to say about Steve:

Hickinbottom “For many years Steve has dedicated his life to cricket through Cropston Cricket Club.

In the early 90s the clubs fortunes were at low ebb, Steve started a team of juniors from scratch, who never won a game in the first season.  Steve coached and nurtured this team through winter nets and during the summer.

As of today 9 of this team now play for Cropston 1st team and others with the 2nd team. All this is thanks to Steves hard work and dedication which is still going on today with other young players coming through, he also started a girls section which is starting to gain numbers.”




Following the presentation all nominees were treated to a delicious “Hoggy’s Roast” and a thrilling game of cricket between Leicetsershire and Lancashire which culminated in a nail-biting tie.

We would like to thank all nominees for their commitment to the game. We wish the winners the best of luck with the national awards in September.