RMPThe time has almost arrived for the start of a brand new competition for primary schools in Leicesters-shire and Rutland, the Red Monkey Play Primary Cup.


On Friday 16th May Bishop Ellis Primary, Fairfield Community Primary, Hall Orchard Primary, Dunton Bassett Primary, Sileby Redlands Primary and Wymeswold C of E will bowl the first balls and smash the first sixes in a series of rounds which includes Primary schools from across the county.


Each round will precede one of LCCC’s home Natwest T20 Blast fixtures, with the winning school on the day having the chance to form the guard of honor as the players take to the field. The winning schools from each round will compete at the grand final on 18th July when Leicestershire take on Durham Dynamos.

Each participating school has also been given 30 child and 12 adult tickets to give the non-playing members of the class a chance of experiencing the iconic Grace Road cricket ground and of course the excitement of T20 cricket.

The Red Monkey Primary cup pools will be played at the following home fixtures

  • Friday 16th May
  • Sunday 1st June
  • Thursday 6th June
  • Friday 19th June
  • Friday 4th July
  • Friday 11th July
  • Friday 18th July

It’s hoped that all schools involved have a great experience and relish their opportunity to play cricket at Grace Road.

Good luck everyone!!